RSS

Green coffee beans..my learning about them has opened the world of coffee to me.

25 Jun

  1. Best green coffee beans

    Now there’s a chance that this should be going in the coffee roasting board, but since my question is about coffee beans, this seems to be a bit more fitting.

    Anywho, I’m going to be ordering about a pound of five different kind of green coffee beans. I’m mostly unfamiliar with different beans, where the best come from, etc. so I figured it would be better to ask the experts instead of just diving in randomly.

    Here are the available beans:

    Brazil Serra Negra
    Sulawesi Torajaland
    Colombian Excelso
    Colombian Supremo
    Costa Rica La Flora
    Tanzanian Peaberry
    Certified Organic Mexican Chiapas
    Mexican Chiapas
    Guatemala Antigua
    Indian Mysore Plantation A
    Papau New Guinea 
    Nicaragua La Bastilla

    From what I’ve heard about and also tasted myself, though please correct me if I’m wrong, Costa Rica La Flora and Tanzanian Peaberry are very good. However I’m a little clueless on what the last three should be.

    Any suggestions would be great. 

     
  2. 09-11-2008 08:51 AM# ADS
     
  3. 09-11-2008 10:44 AM#2

    Super Moderator

    topher's Avatar
     

Join DateAug 2003LocationBoca RatonPosts2,044

  1.  
    Send a message via AIM to topher Send a message via MSN to topher

    why are you buying both supremo and excelso? I would suggest using the supremo and that opens a spot for Sumatra lintong or mandheling, Peruvian or a nice Panamanian..just a thought.

    “Wine is for aging, not coffee.”
    Ken Hutchinson, Starsky and Hutch
     
  2. 09-11-2008 10:51 AM#3

    Junior Member

    SocialSandwich's Avatar
     

Join DateSep 2008Posts8

  1.  
    Send a message via AIM to SocialSandwich

    Sorry, I guess I wasn’t very clear. I’m supposed to be choosing five beans out of that list, I’m not buying all of those. 😛

     
  2. 09-11-2008 11:46 AM#4

    Senior Member

    caffe biscotto's Avatar
     

Join DateJan 2008LocationMASS.Posts708

  1.  
     

    Hey, will you be roasting these beans yourself? For yourself?

    What type of roaster do you have?

    I may be wrong, but some of the above listed beans may work better than others, depending on your preference to roast level.

    Sorry to pry, but the “green” beans part makes me curious… 

    Coffee… It’s what’s for breakfast.
     
  2. 09-11-2008 02:02 PM#5

    Member

    omegapd's Avatar
     

Join DateSep 2008LocationDeep South, GAPosts31

  1.  
     

    I’d add the Guatemalan and Colombia Supremo to the list for sure. 

    Good luck! Let us know what happens and what you choose…

    EW

     
  2. 09-11-2008 07:22 PM#6

    Junior Member

    SocialSandwich's Avatar
     

Join DateSep 2008Posts8

  1.  
    Send a message via AIM to SocialSandwich
     
    Quote Originally Posted by caffe biscotto
    Hey, will you be roasting these beans yourself? For yourself?

    What type of roaster do you have?

    I may be wrong, but some of the above listed beans may work better than others, depending on your preference to roast level.

    Sorry to pry, but the “green” beans part makes me curious… 

    I will indeed be roasting them myself, for myself. Maybe for some friends or family who have a piqued interest.

    I use a trusty popcorn maker.

    Eh, it’s no problem. Correct me if I’m wrong, but “green” bean is the term I’ve been hearing people use themselves. 😛 Also, I prefer a medium to dark roast.

     
    Quote Originally Posted by omegapd
    I’d add the Guatemalan and Colombia Supremo to the list for sure. 

    Good luck! Let us know what happens and what you choose…

    EW

    What’s so ew? 

    Also, thanks for the suggestions. I’ll see how it turns out and be sure to post the results on here.

     
  2. 09-12-2008 03:17 AM#7

    Member

    omegapd's Avatar
     

Join DateSep 2008LocationDeep South, GAPosts31

  1.  
     
     
    Quote Originally Posted by SocialSandwich
    What’s so ew? 

    Also, thanks for the suggestions. I’ll see how it turns out and be sure to post the results on here.

     My initials are E.W. 

    I’ve yet to try my luck with my home roasting, so am interested to hear how it turns out. I’ve been pricing some inexpensive (relative term, I guess) home roasters and may take the plunge one of these days too. 

    EW

     
  2. 09-12-2008 05:02 AM#8

    Senior Member

    caffe biscotto's Avatar
     

Join DateJan 2008LocationMASS.Posts708

  1.  
     

    I also prefer medium to dark roasts, not too dark though, heh.

    Home roasting seems to be catching on these days…. 

    I can’t recommend anything on your list. I’m not a roaster, but I do look forward to reading and learning from your posts. 

    Wishin’ you the best with it. 

    Coffee… It’s what’s for breakfast.
     
  2. 09-12-2008 09:07 AM#9

    Junior Member

    SocialSandwich's Avatar
     

Join DateSep 2008Posts8

  1.  
    Send a message via AIM to SocialSandwich
     
    Quote Originally Posted by omegapd
     
    Quote Originally Posted by SocialSandwich
    What’s so ew? 

    Also, thanks for the suggestions. I’ll see how it turns out and be sure to post the results on here.

     My initials are E.W. 

    I’ve yet to try my luck with my home roasting, so am interested to hear how it turns out. I’ve been pricing some inexpensive (relative term, I guess) home roasters and may take the plunge one of these days too. 

    EW

    Oh, okay. My mistake. 😛

    I hear that using a popcorn popper for coffee beans works just as well as one of those fancy, expensive machines.

     
    Quote Originally Posted by caffe biscotto
    I also prefer medium to dark roasts, not too dark though, heh.

    Home roasting seems to be catching on these days…. 

    I can’t recommend anything on your list. I’m not a roaster, but I do look forward to reading and learning from your posts. 

    Wishin’ you the best with it. 

    Thanks. 

    I went ahead and purchased a small bag of Columbian Supremo today. I have to say, it’s a very potent kind of bean. Certainly not the kind you want to use with a French press, but would probably be great with an espresso machine.

     
  2. 09-12-2008 11:12 AM#10

    Super Moderator

    jlyon10's Avatar
     

Join DateFeb 2007LocationClemmons, NCPosts436

  1.  
     

    Home roasting

    If you are new to roasting, I would suggest the Costa Rica and Nicaragua both are realitively hard so it is pretty hard to burn them. Home Roasting is a blast. I’m spoiled. I won’t drink any thing else.

    Jim Lyon
    Jim’s Coffee Beans
    relax and roast some beans
     
 

 

 
 

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Forum Rules

Similar Threads

  1. Green Coffee Beans
    By Cobra in forum Coffee Beans & Espresso Beans
    Replies: 11

    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 02:58 PM
  2. Green beans or roasted beans specificaly for espresso?
    By Chammy in forum Coffee Beans & Espresso Beans
    Replies: 2

    Last Post: 02-08-2006, 04:37 PM
  3. Buy Green Coffee Beans
    By gilcafe in forum Coffee Beans & Espresso Beans
    Replies: 0

    Last Post: 12-17-2005, 03:36 AM
  4. Colombian Green Coffee Beans
    By kateblancato in forum Coffee Beans & Espresso Beans
    Replies: 5

    Last Post: 10-11-2004, 12:25 PM
  5. green coffee beans
    By wantaroast in forum Coffee Beans & Espresso Beans
    Replies: 6

    Last Post: 09-19-2004, 06:18 PM

Search tags for this page

» Sponsor Links

» Site Navigation

» Sponsors

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.0
 
 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.4 
Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved. 
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
